Simply Super

Well the Super Bowl has come and gone.  For the first time in a long, long time Missy and I celebrated the Super Bowl together, alone!  No RHMS football team over with 12 racks of ribs, no nachos for the multitudes, no liters upon liters of Coke.  It was just the two of us.  So I fixed wings from one of my favorite cookbooks in the world, Recipes 123.  All the recipes use only three ingredients.  So use the best, freshest, and highest quality you can find.  In the wings it was a package of wings from the grocery store, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 cup soy sauce.  I mixed the soy sauce and brown sugar and poured over the cut up wings on a cookie sheet.  I let that stand for about thirty minutes, put it into a 350 degree oven for thirty minutes, then put turned them before putting them upon a rack on the cookie sheet to let the sauce carmelize.  OMG they were good!  I had made these at Christmas for our “cocktail hour” and everybody loved them.  When I made them for the Super Bowl I ground some black pepper into the soy and sugar to give it some heat.  The game was great, the food was great, and the company was outstanding.  Quality still means something.  Cheers!

Leave a comment